Piri Piri Lamb Curry (Kolkata kosha mangsho)

Piri Piri Lamb Curry

goodCam

Mutton or lamb curry is one of my family favorite dish. In Kolkata, most of the people enjoy this delicious homely and traditional ‘Kosha Mangsho’  when they are having a day off or celebrating any precious moment of life.Just like Sunday Roast in England. We are celebrating because we have succeeded in weight loss program. So why not put some more weight on…haha…To me ‘Kosha Mangsho’ means lots of good memories and enjoyment of having comfort food .I still can remember the delicious smell of ‘Kosha Mangsho’ every Sunday from my neighborhood and in my house. Bitter melon is the perfect companion to the lamb curry ,both are most of the Bengali’s favorite combination of food,cause when you bite the bitter melon it gives you a bitter taste to your tongue definitely,which refresh your test buds immediately.After that, you will be able to taste  all the awesome flavor of spices in  the lamb curry or any curry perfectly.Bitter melon is highly recommended to those who are suffering from diabetes.

I have marinated the meat overnight with spices.If you are cooking meat in a casserole pan, not in the pressure cooker, it is a good idea to marinate the lamb overnight for soft and succulent meat.I haven’t used pressure cooker today.I decide to cook it in the traditional manner which tests much better than pressure cooked.So if you have time or curving for the traditional taste of curry then cook them in saucepan or casserole pan.To cook the meat it took me about 2 hours.But trust me the end result was heavenly.

I have added some potatoes and mustard oil in the curry also to get the traditional look and taste.I have cooked rice to go with the curry.Half of the yellow rice is cooked with turmeric powder , sugar, whole spices and clarified butter,and half of the rice is plain steamed rice.Some of my guests don’t like sweet rice,so I made both,Some of them liked the mixture of sweet and plain rice combinations.The reason behind I have named the dish Piri Piri is I have used hot chili powder and green chilies in the curry.You can always use the Kashmiri sweet red chili powder.

To marinate the meat
photo 2
Marination Ingredients
  1. Lamb shoulder with the bone :around 600gm.
  2. 3 Medium size onions.
  3. One whole small garlic.
  4. One inch ginger.
  5. Turmeric powder : One and a half table-spoon.
  6. Green cardamom : 4
  7. Mace 1 tea-spoon or half flower of mace.
  8. Yogurt : 3 table-spoon.
  9. Poppy seeds 2  table-spoon.
  10. Green chiles :3
  11. Mustard oil: 2 large table-spoon.
  12. One large tomato.
  13. Coriander powder: 1 large spoon.
  14. Kashmiri sweet red chili powder: 2 table spoon.
  15. Meat tenderizer powder: 2 table-spoon. (If you have, use raw papaya juice or paste)
  16. Salt to taste.photo 1 copy

Wash the meat thoroughly.Take the excess water off from the meat. Now grind everything listed above with the little help of water if required,otherwise, don’t add water.I have done it in two batches,cause my grinder is not too big.Marinate overnight in the fridge,you can keep this marination in the fridge for maximum 48 hours.photo 3

Cooking Process After Marination
  1. 1/4 cup mustard  oil.
  2. Some whole garam masala:4 to 5 green cardamom, one cinnamon stick or cassia, 4 to 5 cloves and 2 bay leaves.
  3. Coriander leaves.
  4. Potatoes :2 large cut them into half or baby potatoes as many  as you like.(Optional)
  5. Coriander leaves.
  6. Some more yogurt: Around 3 tablespoon
  7. Sweet red chili powder: 2 tablespoon.
  8. Water : Around 2 cups.

Add oil in the hot pan, then add whole spices.

photo 4

Then put the marinated lamb meat.

photo 5Now stir them well and cover it up for 20 to 30 minutes, but remember to stir them every after few minutes.Don’t add water now.

After 30 minutes add yogurt and sweet chili powder for better flavor and colour.

photo 1After that mix, them well cover the lid for another 5 minutes or until the oil separates from the gravy.You will see the small bubbles all over the gravy,then you know the spices are cooked.If you are using potatoes add semi-fried potatoes.I have fried the potatoes with little salt and turmeric powder.

photo 2Mix potatoes and meat gravy nicely add the water.You will need around 2 cups or keep adding water until all the meat and potatoes are covered with the water.

photo 3Now boil the meat until it cooks completely.It took me almost 2 hours in the medium heat.But remember to stir them occasionally ,don’t burn them at the bottom,especially if you are using  a silver pan.One thing I have to share that potatoes take maximum 30 minutes to cook ,so adjust the timing according to that.I basically took the potatoes out of the gravy when they were cooked.Then keep on cooking the meat until it cooked properly.

After 2 hours add coriander leaves on top and stir them.

photo 4Believe me, you won’t regret after cooking this delicious Piri Piri lamb curry.Serve the curry with rice or bread.Enjoy…

final

59 Comments Add yours

  1. OMG Payel! Tor address ta ektu dibi. Eshe khabo tor barite 😀 Ufff pari naaaa. Eto tasty dekhte hoyeche!!! Yummyyyy!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. payel says:

      😃😃!Thanks Mona…chole aye na,bhaloi hobe.Onek dhonobad !

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Wow.. you both are sounding really cute. Haha! I’m trying to speak Bengali but it seems like a tongue twister😅

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Sumith Babu says:

    This is beyond words payal!! I could eat this lamb every day!! All day!! And the photographs are stunning!! Lip smacking😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. payel says:

      Thank you so much Sumith.Appreciate your acknowledgement.Me too, love this desi style curry.:)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sumith Babu says:

        There is a repeat in one of your paragraph please check. And trash this message straight away. Dont approve. So no body could see this message.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. payel says:

        Oops , sorry about that.Thanks for letting me know.I just corrected.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. payel says:

      Thank you @dishdessert..Im glad that you liked my curry.:)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Too delicious! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. payel says:

      Thank you Shreya.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Gloria says:

    looks yum and delicious!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. payel says:

      Hi Gloria,I’m so happy to know that you liked my recipe .Thank you so much.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award. Kindly visit the link for more details.
    https://healthyindiankitchen.wordpress.com/2016/08/01/sunshine-blogger-award-and-black-cat-blue-sea-title/

    Liked by 2 people

    1. payel says:

      Hi Mona,sorry for late reply.Thank you for selecting my website. I’m really great ful to you.😃💛

      Like

    2. payel says:

      Hi Mona,sorry for late reply.Thank you for selecting my website. I’m really grateful to you.😃💛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No worries Payel! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Rateka says:

    Yummyyy..beautiful presentation i must say 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. payel says:

      Thank you Rateka for your wonderful words!😃💃

      Liked by 1 person

  7. paintdigi says:

    Fine posts, very delicious blog …. Congratulations
    I invite you to see my creations; welcome
    http://paintdigi.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. payel says:

      Thank you @paintdigi !

      Like

  8. I really like you wrote, Piri Piri.. yellow yellow. 😉

    Like

    1. payel says:

      Thanks Sumit…sorry I did’t get that ‘yellow yellow’.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha.. ok you tell me first what’s that Piri Piri?😃

        Like

      2. payel says:

        ‘Piri Piri’ basically refers to the hot sauce!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ok sorry. Piri means Yellow in Gujarati language.

        Like

      4. payel says:

        You know ,I thought that ‘he must be translating it into his own language ,I didn’t know ‘piri’ means yellow in Gujrati.Good to know that! You must be a vegitarian !

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Well, you guessed it right. 😉
        Yes, basically I am. But I’m more of experimenting person so I eat whatever I get.

        I mean, everything. 😂😉

        Like

      6. payel says:

        I guessed that too, it’s quite normal for any man…haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Hahaha😂😂😉

        Like

  9. Nice…look forward more dishes…

    Like

    1. payel says:

      Thank you Sir!

      Like

  10. deep says:

    Can’t say about the recipe, me being less of a cook, more of a eater, but the photos of look extremely yummy…specially the saffron coloured rice added a nice touch.
    Regarding the potatoes, at my home it’s added after the mutton has been thoroughly cooked (checked by the khunti… Don’t know what’s it called in English…by inserting it into the meat). Then left to simmer for sometime.
    Lovely photos, great write-up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. payel says:

      Yes, that is another way of cooking the potatoes with meat curry,which I do sometimes as well.Thanks for reading the recipe eventhough you don’t love cooking.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Looks so delicious! Thanks for your sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. payel says:

      Thank you so much Jennifer, I’m so glad that you liked my recipe!😃…Love to share …

      Like

  12. Kiki says:

    Looks mouth watering delicious!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. payel says:

      Thank you Kiki..

      Like

    1. payel says:

      Thank you Nafisa!

      Like

  13. 9recipes says:

    Looks so delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. payel says:

      Thank you so much!😊

      Like

  14. So nicely, you have narrated every step of this preparation. The photos and the decoration of the plate are very artistic. khub bhalo laglo post ta.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. payel says:

      Thank you Sayanti, Its nice feeling to know that you liked my post.Ektu khide khide payechilo ki? Taholei amar ranna r decoration ta swarthok 🙊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Akdom, mouthwatering, Payel. very passionate decoration.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. payel says:

        Thank you so much for inspiaring me!

        Liked by 1 person

  15. Curry Bandit Loves this 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. payel says:

      Thank you Curry Bandit!😀

      Like

  16. WoW !! Reminded of home cooked food ..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. payel says:

      Thank you dear! Cook it and enjoy home cooking 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. payel says:

      Thank you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  17. famsfood says:

    sounds Delicious

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I am so glad I found your blog!

    Being obsessed with food in general, Indian food has it’s very own large place in my heart. It is so much fun to cook, and of course the end results being pleasing to all the senses. I consider Indian cuisine food of passion.

    Thank you so much for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. payel says:

      Thank you for visiting my blog! Unfortunately I didn’t post anything for last few months because of busy schedules , hopefully will start again !

      Like

Leave a Reply

