Simple spicy steamed fish(cod)

Simple spicy steamed fish

photo 5copy
Spicy steamed fish

Steamed food can also be interesting with the  flavourful ingredients , such as ginger,garlic,chilies,spring onions etc. It has got full of nutrient values and good for health conscious individuals. It gives me such pleasure to create comfort food with no time. I sometimes dare to go out of the health boundaries and try whatever junk food I prefer to eat,at the same time balance my meal with good food with little  relish ideas.

Bengali cousin is known for its subtle flavors.One of the authentic dishes in Bengal is steamed fish.Many many years before oil was not easily available to the people who lived interior in Bengal and also was expensive to buy,then they come up with the beautiful idea of steaming the fish inside the banana leafs with some herbs and spices.Gradually this idea becomes popular in our food culture.Traditionally Bengali steamed fish cooked with fresh coconut paste,mustard and chili paste inside banana leafs.In this recipe, I have used simple spices and cook them slowly in the steamer.This recipe is truly delicious ,comfort food and takes very less time to cook.

Marination time: Overnight preferable( optional).

Cooking time: Less than 13 minutes.

ingredients:

Cod fish: 6 filets (any fish filets)

Ginger:1 tablespoon grated

Garlic: one large clove grated

One chopped green chili

1 tablespoon black pepper

1 tablespoon gram flour (besan)

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 large tablespoon lemon juice

Salt to taste

Chili and garlic oil for dressing (optional)

photo 1copy
Marinating fish

 

Marination

Mix all the ingredients except chili and garlic oil.Refrigerate overnight if possible.It can stay in the fridge up to 3 to 4 days.

When the steamer is hot enough place the fish inside the steamer and cook them gently in low flame.It will take maximum 10 minutes, depends on the thickness of the finish.You can put the toothpick inside the fish and if it comes out clean that means fish is cooked.Cod fish takes 5  to 8 minutes.

photo 2
Fish while steaming

I had the fish wish steamed rice, boiled red lentil and steamed kale leaves, some salads and some ghee (clarified butter). I loved the drizzle of  chili and garlic oil on my fish.

8copy
Simple spicy steamed fish with drizzle of chili and garlic oil

6copy

 

 

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. khub shundor….can very well see how yummy this dish would be…I love steamed fish…especially our bengali style ones….this dish is gorgeous !! 🙂

    Like

    1. payeljit says:

      Thank you Mona 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Alia says:

    You are killing me! It looks amazing and I am sure the taste is not less than delicious!

    Alia L. | a.1o.out
    https://10about.com

    Like

    1. payeljit says:

      Thank you Alia ! I am very happy to know that you liked my recipe! Yes they are very delicious ! Pls do try them! I hope you will like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. messytittles says:

    I am a biiig foodie. 😀 I love trying out new stuff as well. And I saw your blog from my friend’s comment box and was immediately interested. 😀 Would love to try out all the dishes you have made especially the sweet ones. Being Bong 😀

    http://www.messytittles.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. payel says:

      Thank you so much @messytittle ,You are such a sweetheart..if you try any one of them I will be very happy my dear..I will try to make more sweet recipes as I don’t get much time to cook..but I love cooking..hope you would love them..Thank you once again.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. messytittles says:

        I would definitely love them 🙂 and your welcome ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. dishdessert says:

    I liked your blog

    Like

    1. payel says:

      I’m happy to know that you like my blog,it means a lot to me..Thank you so much.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

